New Edition

Photo: GAB Archive/Redferns/Getty Images

7 of 18
New Edition
Established: Formed in 1982 in Boston.

Members: Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Bobby Brown, Ralph Tresvant and Ronnie DeVoe were the original members of the group. Johnny Gill joined after Bobby went solo in 1986.

Biggest hits: "Candy Girl," "Cool It Now," "Every Little Step," "Mr. Telephone Man."

Fun Fact: New Edition was discovered after they came in second place at a talent show. Michael Bivins later discovered and helped develop Boyz II Men. 

Best lyric: "My girl's like candy / a candy treat / She knocks me right off of my feet / She's so fine as can be / I know this girl is meant for me" — "Candy Girl"

Where they are today: The group took a hiatus in 1990. Ronnie, Michael and Ricky formed another successful group, Bell Biv Devoe. Ralph and Johnny went solo. In 1996, all six members got together to record the album Home Again. The group's latest release, 2004's One Love, featured all members except Bobby.