blue cheese

Photos: iStock

1 of 5
Blue Cheese
Although the cultures of the mold penicillium that give blue cheese its signature sharp and tangy taste are safe to eat, they aren't completely free of gluten. That's because the starter mold comes from bread, says Lisa Cimperman, a clinical dietitian at University Hospitals Case Medical Center in Cleveland, and it's possible for trace amounts of gluten to be present. If you have celiac disease, even small quantities of gluten could cause problems, so opt for feta, cheddar or other cheeses not made with mold.