Gap Creek
Announced on January 18, 2000
About the Book
At turns poetic and gritty, Robert Morgan's Gap Creek is a stunning follow-up to his critically acclaimed novel, The Truest Pleasure. Widely regarded as the poet laureate of Appalachia, Morgan captures the spirit of this wilderness territory he knows so well.

As the New York Times Book Review said, "Morgan is among the relatively few American writers who write about work knowledgeably, and as if it really matters... You begin to feel, as you sometimes do when reading Cormac McCarthy's or Harry Crew's early novels, that the author has been typing with blood on his hands and a good deal of it has rubbed off onto your shirtsleeves... His stripped-down and almost primitive sentences burn with the raw, lonesome pathos of Hank Williams' best songs."

A must for fans of Cold Mountain, Gap Creek is an Appalachian story. It is also the story of a marriage — the story of a couple's first year. Julie and Hank can't keep their eyes off each other when they move to Gap Creek, just across the South Carolina line from their homes near Flat Rock, North Carolina. In Gap Creek they must forge a relationship while being tested by every imaginable act of God.
In the end it takes a flood é an apocalyptic, hell-bent water that nearly kills them both é to right their world and help them discover the survivors and the lovers within.


Next Story