Author to Appear on The Oprah Winfrey Show
CHICAGO, IL — On Friday, September 17, 2010, exactly 14 years to the day of announcing her first Oprah's Book Club pick, Oprah revealed the 64th Oprah's Book Club selection: Freedom by author Jonathan Franzen. She said, "From the very first chapter, I declared it a tour de force."

Freedom is a comic and tragic epic of contemporary love and marriage. Published in 2010, this masterly crafted novel captures the temptations and burdens of liberty: the thrills of teenage lust, the shaken compromises of middle age, the wages of suburban sprawl and the responsibility of privilege. Charting the characters' mistakes and joys as they struggle to learn how to live in an ever-changing and confusing world, Freedom is an indelible and deeply moving portrait of our time.

Author Jonathan Franzen will appear on The Oprah Winfrey Show in November. Details about the upcoming episode will be available online at a later date.

As the biggest book club in the world, Oprah's Book Club has nearly 2 million online members. Each of its selections have skyrocketed to the top of bestsellers lists. Enrollment is free and provides members with access to benefits such as online discussion groups and reading questions. To join Oprah's Book Club, log on to

Oprah's Book Club also works with the American Library Association (ALA) to distribute thousands of free Book Club selections donated by each publisher, to school, public and community college libraries nationwide. The Chicago-based ALA,, is the oldest and largest library association in the world with more than 64,000 members.

About The Oprah Winfrey Show
The Oprah Winfrey Show has remained the number one talk show for 24 consecutive seasons, winning every sweep since its debut in 1986.* It is produced in Chicago by Harpo Productions, Inc. and syndicated to 215 domestic stations by CBS Television Distribution and to 145 countries by CBS Studios International.

*Nielsen Cassandra Ranking Report - Nov '86 to May '99 and Wrap Sweeps, Nov '99 to May '10, major sweeps only. Wtd Avg DMA HH Rtg, Primary Telecasts Only.


Next Story