72 of 80
Marisa H.
Hometown: Oceanside, California

"I am a 42-year-old single female who walked away from a career in the corporate world three years ago to pursue a dream to help people with mental illness. I have been accepted into the nursing program at the University of San Diego this fall semester!"

What is your favorite show on OWN?
Oprah's Master Class. My absolute favorite Oprah's Master Class was with Morgan Freeman. He has great wisdom that opened my eyes to the possibilities that the world can bring if you persevere.

What is the one item you can't live without, and why?
I can't live without strong coffee, See's chocolates and my sister (who is my best friend).

What do you like that most people dislike?
As an aspiring nurse practitioner, bowel movements don't bother me. They bother other nurses, but not me. I am actually fascinated by it all.

What is your hidden talent?
I was in the marching band drum line in high school, so as an adult, I continue to play the drums on my knee or in my room when no one is around.

What are you proudest of?
I am proud that I had the courage to quit the corporate world despite the negative feedback I received from some friends and family. Deep inside me, I knew I had to pursue my dream of helping others rather than sit in a corporate office the remainder of my life. Who would have thought I would be this far into my dream?

What is your biggest pet peeve?
My biggest pet peeve is people not following through on their promises and commitment to me and others.

What would you like to learn to do?
I would love to learn how to skydive and train to run the half marathon in Nevada called Running with the Devil. Ah, that is what I would love to learn how to do. :) Brings a smile to my face.