30 of 80
Alexis J.
Hometown: Spartanburg, South Carolina

"I am a student at the University of South Carolina Upstate. I am a theater major with a minor in mass communications. I can act, sing, dance, write, draw and various other things. I love being around people (conservative or liberal, all races, everyone, point-blank). I love to travel. One day, I hope to travel to Europe. Learning different cultures and acting are my passions. I want to show people that hard work gets you somewhere. Hard work keeps you humble and reminds you of what it takes to get where you want to be."

What are your three favorite things?
My three favorite things are theater, music and nature.

What would your superpower be?
My superpower would be the ability to morph into various looks for every situation.

What is the first thing you do when you wake up?
The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is to get on my laptop and play my favorite music while browsing Facebook.

What is the last thing you do before you go to bed?
The last things I do before I go to bed are to study and write for my various projects.

What is your favorite OWN show?
Oprah: Where Are They Now? and Dr. Phil.

What is the one item you can't live without, and why?
I can't live without my laptop. I am always on it. I have to network with people. I work on my schoolwork, spruce up my résumés, write my stories and plays, do research for projects and learn about the things outside my home. I can live without my phone (somewhat).

Who is your hero?
I don't really have A hero, but I have MANY heroes: the people who raised me. My great-grandma, great-aunt and -uncle, great-grandpa and my mom and dad made me into the person I am today. I am happy to have them in my life because without them, I wouldn't be as successful as I am.

What do you like that most people dislike?
I like music that most people don't listen to. In South Carolina, people like rap, country and rock. I like underground music, like dubstep, and foreign music, like opera, folk, etc. I don't mind sharing my music with people. They don't have to like it. I am not afraid to show what I love.

What are you proudest of?
I am proud of being able to accomplish my goals: graduating high school with honors, attending college (sophomore this year), making friends with great people, having the talents that I have, conquering my fear of crowds when I perform (especially singing), and being myself—no matter how energetic or silly I can be. I just like being me and not someone else (unless it is for a play).

What is your biggest pet peeve?
My biggest pet peeve is ignorance. People who don't accept the changes in the world. People who use ignorance to justify their hatred of another person. I believe in the equality of all mankind. I just hope my generation and the generations after me will try to make a difference in the world when our current leaders must step down. Hatred is taught; no one is born with it.

What would you like to learn to do?
I would like to learn how to ride a horse. I have only ridden once, but I had improper lessons. I want to learn how to ride a horse and how to stage combat for film and stage...and maybe even how to fence.

What are you particularly bad at that your friends tease you about?
I can't keep quiet. In my youth, I used to be the quiet kid because I was bullied a lot, but once I got into theater and made friends, I couldn't stop talking. I get all excited when I talk, and I might start talking louder or energetically. My friends always say, "I want what you're taking, Alexis!" I just have that inner child, I guess. I love to talk.