After the retirement of Albert Erskine, Cormac moved from Random House to Alfred A. Knopf. All the Pretty Horses, the first volume of The Border Trilogy, was published by Knopf in 1992, and it was later turned into a feature film starring Matt Damon and Penelope Cruz and directed by Billy Bob Thornton.

The national best-seller is the tale of John Grady Cole, who at 16 finds himself at the end of a long line of Texas ranchers, cut off from the only life he has ever imagined for himself. With two companions, he sets off for Mexico on a sometimes idyllic, sometimes comic journey to a place where dreams are paid for in blood. The book won the National Book Award for Fiction and the National Book Critics Circle Award.


Next Story