5 Surprise Foods That Have Gluten
We always knew this protein
mainly existed in baked goods. Turns out there are plenty of other places where it’s hiding.
You've found the perfect gluten-free burger bun
(yay!). But before you slide a patty on there and add your lettuce, tomato and ketchup, keep an eye out for another place gluten can hide. Your burger's seasonings could contain the protein (similarly to the meats mentioned earlier); and, the burger may contain barley, which absolutely contains gluten (Cimperman has seen one prominent supermarket selling a four-grain veggie burger, with one of the grains being barley). There's no need for anyone following a gluten-free diet to avoid all whole grains, though; buckwheat, millet, quinoa, wild rice and many others are usually fine
. If you want to be extra careful, look for that gluten-free certification, which is a good way to ensure a food is okay to eat.