A Quick Crash Course in Gluten-Free Foods:
Grains High in Gluten
From our friends at the Mayo Clinic:
Spelt (form of wheat)
There is some controversy over whether oats are safe for those with gluten sensitivity, stemming from medical debate over what specific chemical compounds in grains cause immune responses in humans. In general, oats and oat products are a safe bet, as long as they are not contaminated with wheat. To be extra sure, buy those oats that say "gluten-free" on the package.
As always, even those grains that are gluten-free when they come out of the ground may get contaminated through contact with gluten during harvesting or processing. Especially for those with severe allergies, be sure the label reads "gluten-free" before ingesting.
Foods to enjoy and avoid
Most Popular in Health